TORTOISE STEW – WHERE FACT AND FICTION MEET

Most writers pull ideas from real life to begin novels. This is what happened to me when I wrote Tortoise Stew. Just remember, to change names and circumstances so they don’t resemble too closely the reality.

P.C. Zick

Sometimes the muse leads us where we need to go. In early 2002, I was working on a novel set on the Suwanee River. I was also a reporter for a 5,000 circulation weekly newspaper in north Florida. I covered one of the more contentious city commissions as WalMart began doing what WalMart does best – disrupt small town America.

One Tuesday morning in February, I made my rounds of the local city police departments to pick up the police reports for the past week before heading to the newspaper’s office. When I turned the corner, police tape encircled the building, and I saw my coworkers wandering around outside.

“Don’t worry – no one was hurt,” the publisher said as he rushed toward me when I got out of my car. “They were able to detonate the bomb before anything happened.”

                 …

View original post 448 more words

Leave a Reply

